The red squirrel

This mammal also goes by the name Sciurus Vulgaris and is quite common in Lakeland. Studies show that Cumbria boasts of the highest population of these species in all of England.

Writers who have been to the region have written on the beauty of this creature from as early as 1901. The difference between a red squirrel and a grey one lies in the size, ear tufts and hue. The red squirrel is much smaller and weighs much less than its grey counterpart. In addition to this, it has unique ear tufts that are present in winter and autumn. Also, the red squirrel has a uniform orangey-reddish-brown hue on its back, which is something that the grey squirrel does not. This mammal is native to the region, having settled in Britain following the ice age. It thrives in woodlands and therefore does well in the Lakeland region where the human invasion is yet to affect the environment adversely. There are conservation efforts underway to protect the red squirrel which faces a threat owing to the increase in the population of the grey squirrel.

The red deer

This deer, also known as the Cervus Elaphus, is the biggest deer in the Lakeland region. It has a uniform red-brown coat which is devoid of pale spots in the adults. The stag has large and branched antlers, and this feature sets these species apart from the rest. In the past, the deer would live in forests where they could source food with ease. As humans continued clearing the woods, the deer were forced to move to higher regions in the hills. Here, they were unable to get enough nutrition, and thus their numbers started to fall. There are hundreds of these species in the southern part of Lakeland and conservationists are working to increase their numbers.

The common seal

The Phoca Vitulina (common seal) can be quite hard to distinguish from the grey seal. However, the former species has a round head, and when lying on the ground, it tends to raise its tail and head characteristically. It is not often that people come across this species and it is much easier to see the grey seal.

The grey seal

Of all the seals in the Lakeland region, the grey seal is the most common. You can easily distinguish between the two by looking at the shape of their heads. The latter seal has a more massive and much more flat head than the common seal. It also has a Roman nose.

The Otter

The otter also goes by the name Lutra Lutra and is almost always near a water source. It is easy to confuse this species with a mink which can swim too but tends to be much darker and smaller than the otter. These mammals survive on eating fish, amphibians and other species in the water mostly during the night. Visiting the Lakeland region will give you more insight as to the beautiful creatures that live in the area.